top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEphan Joseph

Diary of a 3D character modeller - Part 4

Exporting from Zbrush to Maya

I researched the method games studios use to export their models with as much detail as possible. I discovered that they have a low-poly version and a high poly version with all the detail. To get the low poly for the body I just exported my Zbrush sculpt on the lowest subdivision which already had good topology. I also exported many sub-tools on the lowest or close to lowest subdivision for the low-poly versions. These models were then imported into Maya.

After everything was imported I felt that one or two objects needed to be retopologised like the leg wraps and the shoes so I made the objects live and used the quad draw tool to recreate the same shapes but with much fewer polygons and organised topology. The high poly and low poly elements were then exported separately.


Substance Painter Workflow

To begin the Substance Painter process I needed to create a new project with the low poly model I exported from Maya. Then I needed to create the texture maps by baking the High poly detail onto the low poly.


After this process was completed I was ready to start painting on the character using fill layers and some of the procedural textures available. I initially looked at references to establish the base skin tone for the character and added it as a fill layer. The skin has many components to consider so it was important to try and get some colour variation in by considering things like subsurface scattering, freckles and dirt.


For the tattoos on the chest I downloaded the designs from Shutterstock and adjusted them in Photoshop to create an alpha. I then in Substance I created a blue fill layer with a little bit of height which I projected my tattoo onto using the projection tool and I hand painted the symbols onto his wrist because I wanted it to seem more natural like he has it painted frequently before a battle. A similar technique was used in texturing the elements before I exported all the textures.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page