top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEphan Joseph

Diary of a 3D character modeller - Part 1

For my project, I was heavily inspired to create a realistic character suitable for AAA games. I have been impressed by the quality of realism delivered by companies such as Naughty Dog in their games so I aim to achieve a similar level of detail by following an industry-standard process.


Pipeline Planning

The first thing I did was gather some resources that outlined the process of creating a character from start to finish. To model a character of that quality I had to consider things such as sculpting off of a base mesh as this is the process at most games studios. I also need to learn the sculpting process in ZBrush as I’m not too experienced in this software. This would mean following detailed references of anatomy to get an accurate model. To create the hair I was thinking about using hair cards as this is used more commonly in games.


Gathering Image References

To plan my character I gathered a few images that contained elements of what I wanted such as the body physique, hair and face.



Creating a character concept

Using my image references I developed concept art for my character. I wanted it to be a male human that’s based on Viking culture as I was drawn to Norse mythology and symbolism. I designed trousers, boots and a belt that has a Norse symbol cast onto the buckle.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page