top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEphan Joseph

Diary of a 3D character modeller - Part 2

Zbrush troubles & sculpting the body

I struggled a lot at first to sculpt fine details into the character. This was my first time using ZBrush for a project so it took me a while to get used to the interface and familiarise myself with the available tools. I learnt that I needed to increase the subdivisions if I wanted to start sculpting fine details into the model.


In the initial stage the pecs were way too large! The abs were also really deformed. At the time I was working mainly with the Standard and Claybuildup brush to develop the sculpt. Whilst useful they did not provide me with the precise cuts into the sculpture that I wanted.


I made a breakthrough when I discovered the DamStandard, this allowed me to draw intricate lines on the model. It instantly improved the level of detail I was able to work into the character’s body. I also discovered the Trimadaptive brush which was useful in flattening the pectoral region. At this early point, I was mainly working on the front side of the character and on the arms a little bit.


Sculpting the head

I then focused my attention on the head and looked for pictures of famous Scandinavian people so I could get references from multiple angles. I decided to use Alexander Skarsgård as my reference as he is Swedish and I felt that his look suited the character I had in mind. I did my best to capture his general features but I was also keeping in mind that this wasn’t a likeness sculpture so some features and proportions I took creative liberty with.


Sculpting fine details

The last thing I focused on in regards to the body of the character was adding small details to make it more realistic. Up until this point I had used the symmetry feature to get an evenly proportioned character but for these small details variation is more realistic so I turned off symmetry. I applied the noise feature to add a porous texture to the skin. I created some scars on the body and wrinkles in the forehead with the Damstandard and Claybuildup brush. Veins were added to areas of the body to emphasise the vascularity of a muscular character. In the final render my character will have its mouth closed but I wanted it to have teeth anyway so I got a set from the Zbrush preset models and placed it in my character's mouth which I would later texture in Substance Painter.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page